What is Happiness? Who is Happy?


I think happiness is a state of mind. If you learn to control your mind, you know the way to be happy.

If your mind tells you: “You don’t have this – you don’t have that?” Ask your mind in return: “Which of these are irrevocable?” Anything that is irrevocable is the “death of a near one”. Rest all can be achieved with persistence and patience.

You CAN achieve anything, even in toughest times, only if you tame your mind to be patient and calm. Inner peace is EVERYTHING – none but YOU can achieve it. No guru can help you get that if you decide that you can’t be happy. So learn to tell yourself: All is in control. I can handle this – I CAN! Then see the magic.

None but myself has taught me this.

Despite all the “nothings” in life, one should learn to feel blessed for “whatever” he / she owns – I have learnt this lately – But I am glad I did. Nobody is completely deprived of “everything” – I bet.

6 thoughts on “What is Happiness? Who is Happy?

  1. Funny you put it like that.

    A guy who sat under a bodhi tree two and a half millenia ago said that one of the keys to happiness was understanding everything is irrevocable. Everything must be given up sooner or later.

    Anicca he called it (in Pali).

    I guess there’s many paths to happiness.

    1. I am glad you found my “serious” personal opinion “funny”. I am a Buddhist, and still on a learning path to understand Buddha’s teachings – whom you call “that guy”.

      I respect your opinion – and your guess. 🙂

      Thanks for visiting my post – I am an infant in blogging. Your feedback is always helpful.

Leave a Reply

