India-Pakistan ~ Borders that could not divide love


My grandfather, father, uncles, and aunts were all born in Pakistan (before partition). Chunian Ka Moda, Rawalpindi was their home.

After partition, they came to India, forever leaving their hearth and home, to adopt a new village in a new and separated country, India

My grandmother told us that some of her friends buried their gold ornaments and precious belongings in their courtyard, hoping to come back. But they could never go back.

Years passed by, and since long, the two nations are at loggerheads – political differences that percolated deep into the roots – into the lives of the common citizens of the countries.

The other day, I was watching a documentary film on NDTV, which dealt at length about the traumatic experience of the people on both sides of the border to manage a visa or entry into another country. I was deeply saddened by the state of affairs.

As someone whose forefathers belonged to Pakistan, I have great desire to visit this country one day. But, I am not sure if that will be easy. I am not sure, if as an Indian, I will ever get a chance to travel freely in that country, without restrictions. Will I get a visa, ever.

Just imagine for a moment, one huge nation, divided its boundaries for narrow political interests and today stands against each other as rivals – everywhere – in sports and entertainment.

Ironical it is…very ironical.

Hope one day, I can visit those lanes of Chunian Ka Moda (Rawalpindi) where my grandfather lived with his children. Where my grandmother made rotis in a saanjha choolha ( a common stove used by the women in a neighborhood to make wheat breads).

This post and this song is dedicated to the people on both sides of the border – a tribute with love – especially for my little friend Yasmeen.

A country divided into two, but the love and the ties remain the same – fresh and vibrant – never dying. I am sure, my brothers and sisters on the other side of the border share the same emotions as mine.

Man-made borders could not divide the love that still persists – undivided.

7 thoughts on “India-Pakistan ~ Borders that could not divide love

  1. Indeed Political Differences,Mindset of People has mad a lot of Chaos …And we are separated by borders..The Borders that I guess we can never overcome but still the hope remains… πŸ™‚
    And I hope Yasmeen gets ur Message and she is indeed very sweet.. πŸ™‚

  2. Really appreciate your thinking… Nice post.

    β€œThe love of one’s country is a splendid thing. But why should love stop at the border ?” – Pablo Casals

  3. OH……………………..You brought tears in my eyes Moni….For the first time i have seen my name in the post of someone.I am speechless.I can’t thank you enough.
    Thank you very much and it is a big honor for me….
    I haven’t seen this post and you never told me about this too.But today when i saw it i was so glad and tears are still rolling down but because of happiness.
    Thank you so much…
    I wish i would pay your this owe with a big hug when you come to Pakistan and i would treat you with a huge lovely party……………
    Love you !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1. Love you too! I really admire you for your courage and your beautiful nature. Be like that always.
      I posted this write-up last night. Have been thinking to write on this for a while. I am glad I met you on wordpress and got the inspiration to write it. Hugs πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

