Few of my Favorite Things


Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things…

Many years back, my granny showed me the legendary movie – The Sound of Music. I was too young to understand the story well, but this song caught me like a fever forever. The verses talking about Maria’s favorite things, made me visualize those beautiful things. I sang and sang again – grew up singing this song.

Today, when it is raining heavily in my city, with lashing cold breeze, I am bound to think of my favorite things – rain being one of them.

Rains always made me romantic (even when I never understood the meaning of romance), and continue to do so. I lay on my bed, viewing the cloud-obscured sky, from the door that opened into a space (below the hibiscus tree) that turned into a little pond. Green and pale fallen leaves, with red hibiscus flowers, lay strewn on the surface of the water. 

I carefully listened to the pattering sounds of raindrops on the tinned roof of my little home and composed poems. 

When I grew up, I understood the meaning of romance, and with it, I began to enjoy rain with a new meaning. I began to love anything associated with rain – colorful raincoats, floral umbrellas, and the feeling of getting drenched in a winter rain. How can I forget a cup of mom-made steaming ginger tea? 

Rains always make me get into a mood to listen to good music – soft and romantic – Strings of guitar and the long fingers playing on them (when I was young, I easily fell for boys who played guitar πŸ˜‰ – secret unfolds! ** and I blush**). πŸ˜‰

 

2 thoughts on “Few of my Favorite Things

Leave a Reply

