Mom I love you


Read a beautiful quote somewhere, which was – “A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for a pie.”

I am sure all of you can relate to this when you think of your mothers. Mothers are such lovely gift of God, priceless and adorable.

I too have a mother who like all lovely mothers, sacrificed a lot to give the best to us.

But I am quite sure that I have one special reason for making us feel the luckiest of all children in the world. She taught us to be strong in the face of a worst situation.

We never felt any day that we needed a man in the house. She stood strong even during those times when the aluminum roof of our one room accommodation dripped with rain water, when we didn’t have the privilege of wearing fancy clothes, when arranging the school fees would mean selling off some small jewelery etc.

I still remember, how we sat through those evenings over a cup of tea and moodi maakha ( puffed rice smeared in mustard oil and salt ) and talked about our dreams. She always told us that God has been kind and that she was confident about our success in anything we would do.

We have travelled many miles ahead. We hold degrees, have secured careers and are independent, confident and motivated women. Thanks to you mumma.

The way she put together our youngest sister’s wedding is amazing. I could not believe myself when I saw her running around, managing every bit of the show all on her own.
Who says a woman cannot do all that men can do? Hatts off mumma !
Thanks aton for all that you have done for me. I don’t think I would have a career without you.
Love you Mom !

Note: This piece has been written by my twin, Sonika Bakshi, who has been a journalist for the last 8 years; has worked with news channels like NDTV and Times Now as Sr Correspondent. She now works with Microsoft’s Corp Com department.

Leave a Reply

